César David Martinez, WWF

Key Biodiversity Areas: keep nature thriving

Key Biodiversity Areas (KBAs) are the most important places in the world for species and their habitats. Faced with a global environmental crisis we need to focus our collective efforts on conserving the places that matter most. The KBA Programme supports the identification, mapping, monitoring and conservation of KBAs to help safeguard the most critical sites for nature on our planet – from rainforests to reefs, mountains to marshes, deserts to grasslands and to the deepest parts of the oceans.

Latest News

KBAs featured at UN General Assembly

Key Biodiversity Areas were featured in the Mapping Nature for People and Planet event of the Nature for Life Hub at the UN General Assembly at the end of September.

163 Freshwater KBAs confirmed

163 freshwater Key Biodiversity Areas have been confirmed to meet the new Global KBA standard, led by the IUCN Freshwater Biodiversity Unit (FBU).

Ebo forest saved from threat of logging

President Paul Biya and the government of Cameroon recently cancelled a logging concession in Ebo Forest.

By identifying all the world’s KBAs and effectively conserving them, the species and ecosystems they support, and the diverse benefits they provide to people, we can halt the loss of nature. We can and will reverse the impending mass extinction of species – the largest extinction crisis to face the planet since the demise of the dinosaurs.